Creating An Announcement In UserIQ
In-app announcements are useful tools to alert customers to new features, product maintenance and any other important communications. Using in-app announcements can be more effective than email because you get customers’ attention while they are using your software (instead of getting buried in their inbox).
Here’s how to create an Announcement in the UserIQ customer success platform:
- From the top navigation menu click on Engagements > Create An Engagement
- Select Announcement for the Engagement type
- Choose the template
- Enter Engagement Name (this name will appear in the list of engagements)
- Select a Theme
- Include a Headline if desired (this will appear in the title bar across your message)
- Select a Header Image if applicable
- Add Body Content, which can include text, image(s), video, links, etc.
- Configure the button behavior:
- Left/Right Button – Activate the toggle to include a left or right button. The Announcement engagement can be closed by clicking outside the window or by clicking the X on the top right corner.
- Left/Right Button Type – Use the drop-down menu to set the action of the left or right button of your Announcement engagement:
- Dismiss – Closes the Announcement engagement. It will never show again for the user.
- Take Me There – An option for “Destination Page” will appear and you can select a page to re-direct the user when they click the button.
- Disable – This option Disables the tour when „Always Deliver” is enabled.
- Left/right Button Text – Click on these text boxes to edit the text that appears on the buttons of this Announcement engagement.
- Click the Display button in the bottom right corner to move to the next step. Here, you can set the appropriate display options:
- Darken Background – Activate the toggle to darken the background when this engagement is displayed. This is useful when calling attention to important and critical information.
- Open Links in New Window – Activate the toggle to display clicked links in a new window.
- Display on Mobile Devices – Activate the toggle to display the announcement on mobile devices as well.
- Display on Specific Page – Activate the toggle if you want the engagement to appear only on a specific page. Select the display page in the dropdown menu.
- Block on Specific URL – Activate the toggle to block the engagement from showing on specific URLs in your platform. You can enter multiple URLs by separating each entry with a comma.
- Engagement Position – Select the position on page that you want to display this Announcement engagement.
-
- Top Right – Positions the modal in the top right position.
- Top Left – Positions the modal in the top left position.
- Bottom Right – Positions the modal in the bottom right position.
- Bottom Left – Positions the modal in the bottom left position.
- Center – Positions the modal in the center position.
-
- Set Advanced Options if desired:
-
- Delay Presentation – Activate the toggle to delay the presentation of your engagement by 'x’ seconds after your app loads.
- Auto Close – Activate the toggle to automatically close the Announcement window after a certain number of seconds.
- Show More Than Once – Activate the toggle to select the number of times you would like to present this Announcement engagement. Activating this option will cause the Announcement to appear multiple times. The slider changes the number of times the Announcement will be displayed (5 times maximum). You can also adjust how often the engagement will be shown (default is once every 24 hours).
- Note – If a user clicks a Take Me There button, the Announcement will no longer display. If a user clicks a Dismiss button or the X in the top right corner, the engagement will continue to display based on the number of times and frequency selected.
- Add Remind Me Button – Activate the toggle to add a Remind Me button. Clicking this button will override the SHOW MORE THAN ONCE option and will display the engagement again 24 hours later.
- Reset Impressions – Use this advanced option with caution! Activate the toggle to reset impressions every 1-7 days (depending on the frequency you select).
- This option is useful if you are presenting an engagement once every X days, indefinitely. Note that resetting impressions will cause a user to see the engagement again and will erase the impression results. For example, if you reset impressions every ‘2 days,’ the Announcement will be presented to users in scope every 2 days and historical impressions data will be erased every 2 days.
- Always Deliver – Activate the toggle to always deliver the engagement until the engagement is paused or a Disable button is clicked by the user.
-
- Click Segment in the bottom right corner to move to the next step. Here, you can decide the audience of the Announcement by selecting an existing segment or creating a new segment.
- Click Review to look over the Announcement engagement and click Save Engagement to save.
- In your Engagements library, toggle the Announcement engagement to “Activate” to launch. You can also preview or archive your engagement.

Comments
0 comments
Please sign in to leave a comment.